About Us

Celebrating 28 Years of Commitment to Milwaukee's Northwest Side Neighborhoods

Agape Community Center owes its start to the thoughtful vision and the financial support of the Sisters of the Sorrowful Mother.  Several Sisters living in the neighborhood learned that too many area families regularly subsisted on meals of bread and cereal.  Working with area churches, they began serving community meals in November 1986.  Since that time, Agape has grown into a vital community resource offering services, activities and programs to nearly 25,000 neighbors.



Agape Community Center is a subsidiary of Ministry Health Care, a leading network of hospitals, clinics and many other health-oriented organizations in Wisconsin and Minnesota.  Both Agape and Ministry are sponsored by the Sisters of the Sorrowful Mother.



Agape is a Greek word with two meanings. It signifies a communal meal. On a deeper level, the term relates to an unselfish love of one person for another.  Although Agape's programs and services are available to all Milwaukee County residents, our focus is our service area in the northwest side of Milwaukee.


Board of Directors

Heidi Humbert, Chairperson We Energies
Alvin Hill, Jr., Vice-Chairperson Milwaukee Center for Independence
Jody Suprise, Treasurer Deloitte and Touche
Susan McCarthy, Secretary Ministry Health Care
Sharon Garrett Cardinal Stritch University
Paul Otero DigiCOPY
Sister Lois Bush, SSM Ministry Health Care
Michelle Moore Webb von Briesen & Roper, S.C.
Karen R. Jackson, PhD. Milwaukee Public Schools
Julia Means, RN Columbia St. Mary's
Staff Leadership  
Ann Bachrach Executive Director
Al Luzi Director of Development
Dominic Foster Director of Programs
Carly Garry Operations Manager