Ashe Scholarship Recipients Announced

(WOODRUFF, WI) – The Auxiliary of Howard Young Medical Center awarded Dr. Henry Ashe Continuing Education Scholarships to seven students who are pursuing a career in a healthcare field at the undergraduate level. Each student received $2,000, a $500 increase over 2012. In addition, two $1,000 scholarships were presented to two graduating seniors from Lakeland Union High School (LUHS) who plan on pursuing a healthcare major.

College recipients include: Jessica Anderson, Hurley, Northern Michigan University, pre-med; Katelyn Taylor Bant, Arbor Vitae, Hamline University, pre-med; Hannah Brusch, Arbor Vitae, University of Wisconsin School of Diagnostic Medical Sonography; David Foster Donovan, Minocqua, University of Iowa Department of Biomedical Engineering, pre-med; Austin Oungst, Arbor Vitae, UW-Eau Claire, Health Care Administration; Deanna Sell, Minocqua, The College of St. Scholastica, Pre-Optometry; and Anna Wilke, Arbor Vitae, St. Catherine University, Nursing.

Scholarships were awarded based on the number of qualified applications selected, and funds available for the program. Funds are provided by the Auxiliary of Howard Young Medical Center fundraisers and the Auxiliary Gift Shop, located inside Howard Young Medical Center.

In 2012, the Auxiliary provided $8,500 to college students, and LUHS students, who are pursuing a career in the healthcare field.

Scholarship applicants must be graduates of Lakeland Union High School. Eligibility requires that students currently be enrolled in programs leading to an associate or bachelor’s degree in healthcare-related majors. Students must have completed one semester of college.

Dr. Henry Ashe was instrumental in establishing the Northwoods’ first medical clinic. His passion for healthcare helped secure medical services for the area.

Ministry's Latest Social Activities
Facebook Twitter