Perinatal and Family Education Classes

Ministry Saint Clare’s Family Birth Center has classes for the whole family that will help answer questions about pregnancy, labor, delivery, sibling adjustment, breastfeeding, and a host of other topics. We are committed to providing you and your family with the best care as you prepare for your new arrival.

Registration

To register for classes at Ministry Saint Clare's Hospital, Weston please contact NurseDirect at 800.362.9900 or register using the links below for the specific class you would like to enroll in. 

If you have any special dietary restrictions or special accomodation requests please let the Family Birth Center know.  Email Michelle Pagel at Michelle.Pagel@ministryhealth.org or call 715.393.3046

Inclement Weather: Programs will be cancelled if weather appears unsafe for travel. Please call 715.393.3046 to check status of class when inclement weather occurs.

Tours

Tours of the Family Birth Center are offered at most Ministry Saint Clare’s Hospital programs. However, if you or your family would just like a tour, please call the front desk at 715.393.3258. We would be happy to accommodate your schedule.

Early Pregnancy Fair

Description:

This evening will provide you with a vast amount of information to use during your pregnancy, delivery, and post partum.  Women in their first or second trimester are encouraged to attend with their spouse/support person.  Find out what is available for support here in your community.  View many displays and talk with hospital staff. 

 

Topics include fetal development, nutrition, infant safety, car seat safety, lactation support, child care resources and referral services.  A tour of the Family Birth Center will be offered at the conclusion of the class.  This program is free.  Registration is required.

Monday January 11, 2016 - 6-8 p.m.

Monday March 7, 2016 - 6-8 p.m.

Monday, May 9, 2016 - 6-8 p.m.

Monday, July 11, 2016 - 6-8 p.m.

Monday, September 12, 2016 - 6-8 p.m.

Monday, November 14, 2016 - 6-8 p.m.

 

Childbirth Preparation Class

Description:

Expectant mothers and their spouse/support person will be given the tools to help them manage their labor and birth.  Relaxation/breathing techniques and comfort positions will be practiced and information about medications and cesarean section will also be provided.  Upon completion of this class, parents will gain knowledge and confidence to make informed choices for a positive birth experience.  Registration is Required

Tuesday/Thursday, January 19&21, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday/Thursday, March 15&17, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday/Thursday, April 19&21, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday/Thursday, May 17&19, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday/Thursday, June 21&23, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday/Thursday, July 19&21, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday/Thursday, August 16&18, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday/Thursday, September 20&222, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday/Thursday, October 18&20, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday/Thursday, November 15&17, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday/Thursday, December 20&22, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

 

Breastfeeding Classes

Description:

A certified lactation consultant or lactation educator will be present information on the advantage of breastfeeding, how to get started, positioning techniques, and tips for breastfeeding moms who work outside the home.  Registration is required.

Thursday, January 7, 2016 5:30-8 p.m.

Thursday, January 28, 2016 5:30-8 p.m.

Thursday, March 10, 2016 5:30-8 p.m.

Thursday, April 21, 2016 5:30-8 p.m.

Thursday, June 2, 2016 5:30-8 p.m.

Thursday, July 14, 2016 5:30-8 p.m.

Thursday, August 25, 2016 5:30-8 p.m.

Thursday, October 6, 2016 5:30-8 p.m.

Thursday, November 17, 2016 5:30-8 p.m.

Tuesday, December 20, 2016 5:30-8 p.m.

 

Infant Care/Safety Basics Classes

Description:

Caring for a new baby can be overwhelming to first-time parents.  Expectant parents have the opportunity to learn and practice the basics of caring for their new baby.  This class will also provide information of home safety as well as infant CPR.  This is not a CPR certification class.  Registration is required.

Tuesday, February 2, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday, June 7, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday, August 2, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday, September 6, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

Tuesday, November 1, 2016 - 6-9 p.m.

 

Fathers in Training (F.I.T.) Classes

Description:

Fathers In Training is a class for new and expectant fathers only.  Designed for men who want to learn infant basics, this class is led by male pediatricians from Marshfield Clinic.  New and expectant dads will learn how to take care of those who matter the most - the new baby and the new mother.  Registration is required.

Tuesday, January 5, 2016 - 8-9:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 12, 2016 - 8-9:30 p.m.

Tuesday, July 12, 2016 - 8-9:30 p.m.

Tuesday, October 11, 2016 - 8-9:30 p.m.

 

Sibling Celebration Classes

Description:

 If you already have children and worry about their adjustment to their new baby brother or sister, the Family Birth Center offers sibling classes for children between 2 and 10 years of age.  Through music, stories and fun surprises, we prepare children for their new role.  You and your child should attend sibling classes during the last trimester of your pregnancy, so the information they learn will be fresh in their minds.  Registration is required.

Saturday, January 9, 2016 - 10-11:30 a.m.

Saturday, February 13, 2016 - 10-11:30 a.m.

Saturday, March 12, 2016 - 10-11:30 a.m.

Saturday, May 14, 2016 - 10-11:30 a.m.

Tuesday, June 14, 2016 - 6-7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, August 9, 2016 - 6-7:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 10, 2016 - 10-11:30 a.m.

Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 10-11:30 a.m.

Saturday, November 12, 2016 - 10-11:30 a.m.

 
 
Ministry's Latest Social Activities
Facebook Twitter