Founation names 2014 scholarship winners

(Stevens Point, WI) – Micah Katz, Stevens Point, was the recipient of the 2011 Ministry Saint Michael’s Hospital Medical Staff Scholarship through Saint Michael’s Foundation. Micah is currently finishing his third year at UW-Madison Medical School and this year completed his second rotation at Ministry Saint Michael’s Hospital. He is slated to complete his surgery residency in Utah.

“As a recipient of the Medical Staff scholarship I have been honored to be supported by my home community,” shared Katz. “I feel privileged to have the continued support of the people at Ministry, who enthusiastically welcomed me for my rotation. Further, my rotation will be especially meaningful because when I start practicing medicine I can easily see myself returning home or to a community like Stevens Point.”

Saint Michael’s Foundation is proud to support students like Micah and the next generation of local students who plan to pursue careers in healthcare by awarding the 2014 scholarships. The 2014 recipients are:

Lucas Mancheski, Pacelli High School, is awarded the Ministry Saint Michael’s Hospital Medical Staff Scholarship. Lucas plans to attend University of Wisconsin- Stevens Point with a major in biochemistry. He hopes to further his education to ultimately become an orthopedic surgeon.

The Ministry Saint Michael’s Hospital Medical Staff scholarship was established by the physicians and care providers at Ministry Saint Michael’s Hospital to annually assist a Portage County student who is pursuing a degree in a medical-related field.

Rachel Smith, Rosholt High School, is awarded the Richard A. Eckberg Memorial Scholarship. Rachel will attend University of Madison to strive for her goal to become a genetic counselor.

Dr. Eckberg, a highly respected physician and mentor at Ministry Medical Group, greatly valued education. The Eckberg Scholarship Fund, established by his family in 1998, recognizes students with academic achievement and a strong dedication to healthcare.

Stephanie Meacham is currently employed as a Patient Access Representative with Ministry Medical Group. She earned her biochemistry/molecular biology degree at University Wisconsin-Eau Claire in 2013, and currently is enrolled at University Wisconsin-Stevens Point in Clinical Laboratory Science. Stephanie was awarded the 2014 Dr. Robert Weaver Memorial Scholarship. Her goal is to be involved in laboratory research that circles around epigenetics and cancer research.

Dr. Weaver was a well-regarded professor of biochemistry at UWSP. In February 2008, Dr. Weaver passed away after an illness that required him to receive daily treatments at Ministry Saint Michael’s Hospital. Established by Dr. Weaver’s family, the scholarship honors Dr. Weaver’s commitment to higher education and supports staff at Ministry Saint Michael’s Hospital.

Saint Michael’s Foundation raises funds for programs and services geared to enhance the quality of healthcare services for patients and families served by Ministry Saint Michael’s Hospital and Ministry Medical Group. Funds are used to establish new programs and initiatives, purchase clinical equipment and provide health-related educational support.

Scholarship applications for the 2014/15 school year will be available in December 2014. For more information or to receive a scholarship application, call 715-346-5349.

Saint Michael’s Foundation celebrates 25 years of caring for the community. Every act of philanthropy begins with a vision for a brighter future. We invite you to be a part of what’s next. Visit us at

Ministry's Latest Social Activities
Facebook Twitter